List of countries exempt from UK quarantine: 59 countries included; India, USA, Qatar, UAE, China excluded

The UK does not seem to have a consistent strategy at the moment to beat the CoronaVirus. They seem to want to beat it, but also want to win at the Economy front. Both have shown an inverse relationship so far. The UK had, earlier on in June, decided that they would require everyone entering the country to undergo quarantine for 14 days on arrival, while some parts of Europe were preparing to reopen. The UK approach, however, was subject to review, and now, it has been reviewed.

The UK has now announced that restrictions will be lifted for visitors arriving into England from various parts of the world. From July 10, 2020, you will not have to self-isolate when you arrive in England if you:

This applies to all travel to England, by train, ferry, coach, air or any other route. If you have been to or stopped in a country that’s not on the travel corridors exemption list you will have to self-isolate until 14 days have passed since you left that country. Here are the 59 countries which will be a part of the UK Travel Corridors for now:

  1. Andorra
  2. Germany
  3. New Zealand
  4. Antigua and Barbuda
  5. Greece
  6. Norway
  7. Aruba
  8. Greenland
  9. Poland
  10. Australia
  11. Grenada
  12. Réunion
  13. Austria
  14. Guadeloupe
  15. San Marino
  16. Bahamas
  17. Hong Kong
  18. Serbia
  19. Barbados
  20. Hungary
  21. Seychelles
  22. Belgium
  23. Iceland
  24. South Korea
  25. Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  26. Italy
  27. Spain
  28. Croatia
  29. Jamaica
  30. St Barthélemy
  31. Curaçao
  32. Japan
  33. St Kitts and Nevis
  34. Cyprus
  35. Liechtenstein
  36. St Lucia
  37. Czech Republic
  38. Lithuania
  39. St Pierre and Miquelon
  40. Denmark
  41. Luxembourg
  42. Switzerland
  43. Dominica
  44. Macau
  45. Taiwan
  46. Faroe Islands
  47. Malta
  48. Trinidad and Tobago
  49. Fiji
  50. Mauritius
  51. Turkey
  52. Finland
  53. Monaco
  54. Vatican City
  55. France
  56. Netherlands
  57. Vietnam
  58. French Polynesia
  59. New Caledonia

Ireland, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man are exempt as they are part of the common travel area. The 14 British Overseas Territories are also exempt.

The important thing to note here is the corridor is for where your flight or ride into England originates from, and not your nationality. For instance, if you flew from Mumbai to London, you won’t be welcome without agreeing to self-isolate. But if you went between Mumbai/Paris and spent 15 days or so there before entering London, you would be welcome without the need to isolate. There are many countries missing from this Travel Corridor list, including India, USA, China, UAE and Qatar amongst others. Remember, a lot of Middle-East investments exist in London, so unless they were already in London before they locked down, they might need access to the city now.

What do you think of the UK’s decision to open these travel corridors?

Liked our articles and our efforts? Please pay an amount you are comfortable with; an amount you believe is the fair price for the content you have consumed. Please enter an amount in the box below and click on the button to pay; you can use Netbanking, Debit/Credit Cards, UPI, QR codes, or any Wallet to pay. Every contribution helps cover the cost of the content generated for your benefit.

(Important: to receive confirmation and details of your transaction, please enter a valid email address in the pop-up form that will appear after you click the ‘Pay Now’ button. Even though the amount you enter has to be in INR, you may use an international card to process the transaction.)

We are not putting our articles behind any paywall where you are asked to pay before you read an article. We are asking you to pay after you have read the article if you are satisfied with the quality and our efforts.

About Ajay

Ajay Awtaney is the Founder and Editor of Live From A Lounge (LFAL), a pioneering digital platform renowned for publishing news and views about aviation, hotels, passenger experience, loyalty programs, travel trends and frequent travel tips for the Global Indian. He is considered the Indian authority on business travel, luxury travel, frequent flyer miles, loyalty credit cards and travel for Indians around the globe. Ajay is a frequent contributor and commentator on the media as well, including ET Now, BBC, CNBC TV18, NDTV, Conde Nast Traveller and many other outlets.

More articles by Ajay »


  1. If you travel through Doha with QR without stopover, are you required to have 14days quarantine? It doesn’t make sense to allow anyone on the same flight to enter without quarantine because they would spend 5-6hours on the same flight. So does this rule apply to all QR flights coming into UK? Or only the departure airport is what it matters?

  2. I think their decision should welcome by all. They consider safety for their citizens. This Coronavirus outbreak is really dangerous. Safety should be our first priority. I personally welcome the UK govt’s decision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *